Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff Accomplishments

Dr. Roger O’Neel, Associate Professor of Worship, taught worship seminars, led worship, and coached worship bands at the Worship and the Word Conference sponsored by Hope Community Church in Sangre Grande, Trinidad, from May 6-11.

Dr. Jeremy Ervin, Dean, School of Education and Associate Professor of Education, co-organized 18 sessions and presented a session titled “Making Sense of Your Science Teaching Through Reflective Practice” for the Teacher Researcher Day at the 2017 National Science Teacher Association’s (NSTA) National Conference in Los Angeles on March 30-April 2. Ervin also presented a workshop titled “Focus on Learning through a STEM Model” for Mansfield Christian School in Mansfield, Ohio, on May 10.

Jeff Gilbert, Assistant Professor of Journalism, won two awards in in the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association 2016 Division 2 writing contest for the third time since 2012. Jeff is a regular freelance writer for the Springfield News-Sun and Dayton Daily News. Jeff shared first place in the Feature category and second place in the Game Story category.

Dr. Margaret Grigorenko, Associate Professor of Education, presented at TEA, Transformation Education Albania, on March 31 and April 1. Her sessions were “Transforming hearts and minds: Classroom strategies for aligning faith and learning,” “Biblical principles for classroom management,” and “Transformation for EVERY child: differentiated teaching to address individual needs.”


Kristine Kidder, Assistant Professor of Nursing, received the Dr. Jan Conway Award for the School of Nursing. This yearly award is given to a faculty member who demonstrates commitment to student growth of knowledge, character, and communication; demonstrates dedication to the nursing profession; provides ongoing mentoring as a role model; and engages students in the application of knowledge in the clinical setting.

Dr. Chu-Yu Huang, Professor of Nursing, received the Dr. Lois Baker Character Award. This award is given to a faculty member who exhibits joy in the journey of life, demonstrates selflessness in interacting with peers, provides encouragement to peers and students, and is eager to share wisdom learned with students.


Connie Ford, Director of Simulation, received the Mark Klimek Classroom Teaching Award for the School of Nursing. This award is given to a faculty member who creates a supportive learning environment, communicates expertise effectively, collaborates with peers and mentors students, and develops critical thought.

Dr. Angelia Mickle, Dean and Associate Professor of Nursing, received the Dr. Irene Alyn Service Award for the School of Nursing. This award is given to a faculty member who demonstrates servant leadership, develops and builds relationships, and facilitates opportunities to engage in service. Dr. Mickle also worked with Dr. Emily Laswell, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, to conduct the inaugural SALINE Process training to School of Pharmacy and School of Nursing faculty. SALINE Process is a 10-hour instruction and skill-building exercise that teaches assessment of the emotional, social, and spiritual needs of patients when giving physical care, in order to treat the whole patient.

Karen Callan, Director of Nursing Lab and Facilities, and Joseph Filip Quina, Adjunct Nursing Professor, traveled to Togo, West Africa, to teach nursing faculty and students how to use patient simulators. They worked with hospital staff members, Dr. Sharon Rahilly, a former Cedarville nursing faculty member, and Melissa Freisen, a Cedarville School of Nursing alumna, in this teaching experience.

Susan Plemons, Assistant Professor of Worship, taught voice seminars at the Worship and the Word Conference sponsored by Hope Community Church in Sangre Grande, Trinidad.


Dr. Rachel Parrill, Coordinator for M.S.N. Global Public Health Nursing track, attended a workshop for the annual Christian Community Health Fellowship conference held in Cincinnati on May 19. “Are You an Extremist or Upstreamist: Understanding the Social Determinants of Health” was the title of the workshop. Dr. Parrill was also a webinar speaker for a presentation hosted by Christian Connections in International Health on May 25. The title of the webinar was “Integrating Faith and Health.”

Dr. Zach Jenkins, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, and Dr. Emily Laswell, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, presented two topics designed to educate new pharmacists about precepting and practice development. These topics were presented at the Ohio College of Clinical Pharmacy and the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists, respectively.

Dr. Rocco Rotello, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and the Cedarville University School of Pharmacy recently played a part in securing a utility/design patent application for Antibodies That Bind Human Protein Tyrosine Phosphatase beta (HPTPbeta) and Uses Thereof, filed on 02/10/2017 in the United States Patent and Trademark Office. The contribution is from a collaboration/research agreement with Aerpio Therapeutics LLC., Blue Ash, Ohio. The work is focused on blood vessel stabilization using humanized antibodies.

Joshua Michael, Director of Library Public Services, authored four articles, including “Religious Dimensions of the American Civil War,” in the recently published War and Religion: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict.

Dr. Michael Firmin, Professor of Psychology, presented a research poster session at the 13th Annual International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry on the campus of the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana.  The presentation was co-authored with Dr. Ruth Markham, Associate Professor of Psychology, and Cedarville psychology majors Lauren Kuhlwein, Heidi Gibbs, and Nikki Tiffan and was titled “Emotional Effects of a Full-Time Firefighting Career.”






Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University attracts 4,550 undergraduate, graduate, and online students to more than 100 areas of study. Founded in 1887 for the Word of God and the Testimony of Jesus Christ, Cedarville is recognized nationally for its authentic Christian community, rigorous academic programs, strong graduation and retention rates, accredited professional and health science offerings, and leading student satisfaction ratings.

Copyright © 2020 Cedarville University

To Top